This beautiful welcome sign / working clock is titled “Discover the Legends”. Landscaping was done by Jason Becker of Fashion Farm. This was the first project of the Future Ligonier Alliance.
Clyde and Helen Chaffee came to Ligonier in 1947 with their two sons, Charles and Clifford. Clyde built the Ligonier Rubber Factory in 1947 and later sold it in 1968. Based on the training from their father, Charles, his wife Karen, and Clifford started back in the rubber business in 1973. In 1988, they bought the Ligonier Rubber Company that their father founded and have since acquired 5 more factories.
As of now, Charles, Karen, and Clifford Chaffee have purchased the old Freudenberg factory building which is 3 times larger than the original Ligonier Rubber building. Many of the same employees that originally worked for Clyde, are still working and/or retired from this business. The Chaffee family is very appreciative of Ligonier and attribute much of their success to the dedicated people of this community.